Skip to main navigation.
Outage Reporting: 1.800.472.2983 or 701.939.6671

Your co-op pays taxes, too

Does Burke-Divide Electric Cooperative pay taxes? Yes! Just like its hardworking members, Burke-Divide Electric Cooperative pays taxes each year.

As a not-for-profit electric distribution cooperative, Burke-Divide Electric Cooperative does not pay an income tax. Cooperatives pay an “in lieu” property tax on the poles, lines, substations and other distribution facilities the cooperative owns in place of income taxes. This tax is based on the megawatt-hours of all retail sales of electricity sold to consumers during a calendar year.

This tax revenue is allocated by the state of North Dakota to counties based on the location of retail sales and the mileage of distribution and transmission lines located within each county.

Six counties served by Burke-Divide Electric Cooperative received a total of $190,794.80 when the cooperative paid its taxes in 2020.

In addition to the “in lieu” tax, Burke-Divide Electric pays locally assessed real estate taxes on the unimproved value of the land it owns for offices and other facilities.

The following counties received tax dollars from the cooperative in 2020:

2020 Taxes Paid

Powered by Touchstone Energy Cooperatives Logo