Skip to main navigation.
Outage Reporting: 1.800.472.2983 or 701.939.6671

Your co-op pays taxes, too

Does Burke-Divide Electric Cooperative pay taxes? Yes!  Just like its hardworking members, Burke-Divide Electric Cooperative pays taxes each year.


As a not-for-profit electric distribution cooperative, Burke-Divide Electric Cooperative pays an “in lieu” property tax on the poles, lines, substations and other distribution facilities the cooperative owns.  The tax is based on the megawatt hours of all retail sales of electricity to consumers during the calendar year.


This tax revenue is allocated by the State of North Dakota to counties and other taxing districts based on the location of retail sales and the mileage of distribution lines located within each taxing district.


Six counties served by Burke-Divide Electric Cooperative in 2016 received a total of $183,114 as the cooperative paid its taxes. 


Since Divide County has the highest Megawatt-hours of retail sales, it received the largest share— $94,981—from the cooperative.  Other counties receiving tax money from Burke-Divide Electric Cooperative include:  Burke County—$69,017; Ward County— $12,050; Renville County— $4,381; Williams—$2,467 and Mountrail —$218.


County governments use the tax dollars largely to fund local school districts, county social service programs and area fire and ambulance districts.


Burke-Divide Electric Cooperative has a total of 2,618 miles of distribution power lines in the counties it serves.


In addition to the “in lieu” tax, Burke-Divide Electric pays locally assessed real estate taxes on the unimproved value of the land it owns for offices and other facilities.


2016 Taxes


Powered by Touchstone Energy Cooperatives Logo